top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Patton

Chapter 5

Phryne

-Aunt Phryne wake up.

I open my eyes and I see Gwyneth.

-Did something happen dear? Why are you waking me up in the middle of the night? – I ask while I sit on the bed.

The cold helps me clear my mind from the sleep and as I look into Gwyneth’s eyes, I notice she looks like she aged by a decade since this afternoon.

-Is it Dagmar? Did something happen to him?

-No, he is fine…. I….

Gwyneth starts shaking and her eyes filled with despair.

-It’s alright my dear, I’m here – I tell her while I grab her hands. They are so cold, and they shake non-stopping. What happened to my Gwyneth that lead her into such a state?

Gwyneth closes her eyes and takes several deep breaths.

-Dagmar wants our son dead, aunt Phryne.

I look at her in shock; unable to form any words.

-Dagmar believes in the prophecy. He believes our son would kill him. I saw him order for the baby to be killed right after the labor.

-Oh, my dear God, my poor child – I pull Gwyneth to me and I hold her tight.

How is this possible? Dagmar loves Gwyneth so much. How can he believe in such a thing?

-You need to be strong but for now, you can cry my child – I tell her while I cuddle her hair.

As Gwyneth cries on my shoulder, I feel hate, a hate I never felt in my entire life. How does Dagmar dare to make my niece cry this way?

I hold Gwyneth even tighter while I take a deep breath to help me to control my rage.

I watched my sister die, unable to do anything to help her, unable to save her. I won’t let my niece to be deprived of her child.

-Shh, its alright dear, nothing will happen to your baby – I whisper to Gwyneth while ricking her in my arms.

Gwyneth is so like her mother. All that fire and hunger for life. I feel the hate becoming increasingly cold. Dagmar, bloody bastard, you will pay for this. You will pay for every single tear my niece is dropping because of you.

-We will go back to Ashpyre, your baby will be safe my dear, don’t worry it’s all fine.

I feel my own heart breaking with each sob. She is so small, so young…

-Look at me Gwyneth – I pull her far away enough, so I can look to her face. – You must be strong child. I know you are. You are your mother’s daughter. You are an Ashpyre.

Gwyneth nods with her head. I get up and I start cleaning her tears with a cold cloth. Gwyneth eyes and nose are all red.

-First of all, you must not let Dagmar notice anything my dear. Don’t tell your father. Letters can be intercepted, and we can’t risk Dagmar finding that you know about his plans.

Gwyneth nods again.

-Listen carefully, here is what we will do…

Only once she leaves, I allow myself to feel the rage.

In this time of the year, it’s almost impossible to travel and Gwyneth will give birth soon.

It’s impossible to go to Ashpyre.

Forgive me my child for lying to you.

Dagmar must die.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page